30 Dates with my Liver #11: Crazy in Love

1 Aug

Ok.
So dating your liver gets real weird, real quick. Even if it’s just a daily blog about eating right and attempting to stay healthy in our increasingly unhealthy surroundings, the devotion of thinking about and eating right can get a little extreme.
You can go crazy.
Orthorexic.
Orthorexia nervosa is characterized by an obsession with healthy eating. People become so worried about where there food is coming from, how it is prepared, that they are unable to enjoy food, live their life in balance, and can even, ironically, become unhealthy.

In my quest to find just the right foods for my liver, I’ve been feeling a bit crazy myself. One book tells me grapefruit is good for you. The next says it’s not for a liver detox. A website says high-fiber fruits are liver friendly. Grapefruits have tons of fiber. But god knows what the ph diet would say about an acidic food like that!!!
With the internet out there, things can be infinitely complicated. You could reference and cross reference a back and forth argument for any food you want to put into your mouth. But that never-ending search could drive me crazy pretty quick-it’s already begun, in fact, if you ask anyone else in my house right now.

So, how to avoid such an extreme?

Keep it simple. Do what I already do so well-love food.

But love it in a single-bite-at-a-time way. Being present for every single bite, so that there is no need to keep stuffing my face to prolong the act of eating. Chew slowly, savoring each taste.

Make each bite so potent with good flavor and nutrition that I don’t get Potato Chip Syndrome-that addictive need to keep crunching one chip after the other since not a single one has any of the nutritional content the body is really craving.

So that’s the plan. Keep things uncomplicated with my liver and with my health. Hopefully it’ll get me to the big 2100-and completely sane in love too.

5 Responses to “30 Dates with my Liver #11: Crazy in Love”

  1. pursuenaturalny2008 August 2, 2010 at 11:07 am #

    Now, you have inspired me! I am going to make a list on my site. I am ‘good for liver food’ obsessed. I even know that one food like cabbage is good for liver in one country but bad for liver in another country, because of the soil in which it is grown. So, local research for yourself is recommended. Now, hopefully I will do it soon.

    • jescantonelli August 3, 2010 at 12:51 am #

      Awesome! The liver is so under rated, and eating well for it is so tasty, too. Local research is an excellent tip. I’ve been trying to eat more locally.
      Very glad to have found your blog as well, very cool stuff! I’ll be checking it out in the future!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 30 Dates with my Liver #30: Looking back & looking forward…the Good, the Bad, & the Ugly « Live to 2100 - August 22, 2010

    […] had a brush with some nasty orthorexia on date 11, when my liver thought I was going […]

  2. Chapter II: A New Level in Living Longer « Live to 2100 - October 25, 2010

    […] been detoxing, fasting, eating raw food, looked orthorexia right in the face and shot back with a weekend of binge eating that says, “sure I might be […]

  3. A Late New Year’s Resolution « Live to 2100 - December 1, 2010

    […] since my gallbladder bit back after all of the stress I put myself through I’ve felt a big need to step back from this blog to regroup and reconsider what will make […]

Leave a comment